How I’ve Learned to Deal with Allergies

Standard

I’ve learned that allergic reactions by a healthy body are a normal response to foreign substances. Sometimes this mechanism over-reacts, creating a situation where an individual is allergic to everyday irritants.

Here are some ways I’ve learned to minimize or eliminate the over-reaction of my body to allergens. I hope you find something here that helps you as well.

Since I’ve suffered from allergies, I’ve begun to carefully choose which laundry detergents I use. Certain brands of detergents can trigger allergy symptoms.

If you find that all detergents bother your allergies, you could always wash your clothing, and your linens with baking soda. Also, allow clothing to air dry rather than using a dryer.

If you’re troubled by different allergies in your home, try putting a dehumidifier or two in the common areas of your living space. This has certainly worked well for me. Reducing the humidity by at least half can really cut down on potential mold growth, and mold is known to be a big contributor to allergies.

I use separate shoes for indoor and outdoor use. I do a lot of work in my garden and always
enjoy being outdoors. I have a pair of shoes set aside specifically for these activities. When it’s time to come inside, my shoes, along with the pollen and dust they carry, are left at the door – minimizing the allergens that make it into the home.

Do you have children? I have a niece and a nephew who are troubled by allergies. If your child frequently complains of symptoms like a stuffy nose, or frequent sneezing, allergies may be to blame. Over time, these problems can make it difficult for your child to perform well in class, or reach his/her full potential. In these cases, allergy therapy may produce a marked difference in the way your child feels, and behaves.

I’ve learned to wash my hair immediately when I get inside, whenever there’s pollen outside. You do not want to allow the pollen to stay in your hair for too long, as this can trigger your allergy symptoms. I think it’s best to wash your hair twice.

Pinpoint your allergy triggers in order to prevent your symptoms. Your doctor or allergist can perform blood or skin tests to determine which substances cause an allergic reaction. This step has helped me to minimize exposure to the substances that cause the most discomfort for me. You may also be able to narrow down your treatments to target specific allergens.

Now that spring is here, you may be affected by outdoor pollen and indoor mold resulting from excess moisture in the air. Try out these tips to help you deal with this irritating condition. They may help you enjoy spending time outdoors, doing some yard work or maybe, planting some new flowers.

Leave a Reply

