Making The Most Out of Any Job Interview

Standard

I’ve been job hunting recently, and would like to share my experience.

I have to say that job hunting sometimes seems like a career in and of itself. I haven’t landed a job yet, but things ARE looking up. I’ve gained some experience in interviewing, and I’ll be sharing some of it here.

I have some past work experiences on my resume, which is great, but I’ve also learned that it’s good to put other information on it as well. For example, my work and personality strengths. I don’t want a potential employer to look at my resume and be bored with just every detail of my work history LOL.

I’ve found it important to uphold very strict privacy settings on my social media profiles. Companies will be viewing my profiles as well as my resume whenever I seek employment. Keeping my profile private allows me to control what can or can’t be seen by my employer. A silly photo or embarrassing post (and I DO have several of those) could be responsible for me not landing the job.

I have some managerial and supervisory experience, and I have been tempted to include testimonials solely from higher-ups. While this is good information to include, I’ve decided to take it a step further by including feedback from my previous.subordinates. I want potential employers to know that I’m a candidates who can connect and build rapport with employees at all levels of an organization.

I’ve made finding a job my… well, my job! Seeking employment is a full time job in itself. I devote time each day toward my job search. It’s not always the same activity everyday, but I do at least one thing each day. For example, looking through job openings, networking on LinkedIn (this is a great resource by the way), attending networking events in my community, and even just mentioning to people I meet that I’m looking for work. It helps me stay optimistic.

Whenever I’ve had issues with a coworker, I’ve found it best to address them right away. Not addressing things can cause them to fester inside, and build up in an unhealthy way. Confronting the issue in a friendly and non-confrontational way is best. Keeping good relationships with my coworkers has always made my day much more pleasant.

So hey, I’ll just keep at it. I can feel that something good is about to happen very soon. Wish me luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

