I Love My Morning Coffee!

Standard

I’ve always felt that when it comes to coffee, quality matters… a lot! I don’t know what I’d do without my favorite brew in the morning, or throughout the day for that matter.

To save money I buy in bulk. I measure out what I plan to use immediately and store it at room temperature (coffee tastes best when it’s brewed from room temperature grounds). The coffee I plan to use within the next week or so goes in the refrigerator, and the remaining beans or grounds in the freezer.

Last week I decided to do some research into coffee, and discovered some really interesting stuff on the Internet. Things I never would have thought about.

Did you know that you can re-use your coffee grounds for many items? Coffee grounds are great for getting rid of smells like garlic and onion on your hands. You can also use them on dishes that refuse to get clean with regular washing. Coffee grounds can even be used in the garden to take care of pests that threaten your plants.

Another interesting fact… the human body needs at least four hours to eliminate caffeine. You should keep this in mind if you want to drink a cup of coffee before going to bed. In you younger years it never seemed to be a problem, but these days a cup up to 3 hours before bedtime keeps me from falling asleep. So I drink a decaff if you I to go to sleep within 3 – 4 hours.

But the GOOD news is, there are many health benefits that have been discovered from drinking coffee. So I always feel free to indulge in my morning cup without fear, and you should too. There are some out there who may want to switch to decaf if the caffeine in the coffee effects other medications they are taking are taking. I was taking one such medication for awhile, but thankfully no longer.

IMHO there is no substitute for quality when it comes to coffee! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

